• By Pranav Gurunathan, Grade 7/3, Cambridge International School, Dubai (CIS)

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.46.37 PM

As I walk out of the aeroplane, the soothing, slow Thai breeze caresses my skin, the inviting smell of seafood enters my nostrils, and the ever-comforting Thai smile greets me. I am astonished by this country.

I ride a tuk-tuk to my hotel, photographing the beautiful Thai streets and landscape along the way.  As I get down from my tuk-tuk and pay the fare, I am astonished by the elegance of the hotel, The Grand Hyatt.  Truly grand!

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.46.52 PM

After taking a quick shower in my hotel, I catch another tuk-tuk and travel to the Victory Monument, an obelisk built in 1941 to commemorate a military campaign against the French in 1941.


Social life is amazing here, with many university students and commuters gathering.  ( The grilled chicken is also delicious!) On that note, I am off to enjoy what came to my mind as soon as I entered Thailand, FOOD!

My next destination is the secretly hidden Issaya Siamese club that I can only reach by travelling through narrow roads. Once I reach my destination, I am pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is inside a 100-year old house and surrounded by a tropical garden.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.48.21 PM

With many rooms for parties and a common dining room, this restaurant is superbly organized. The staff are great and the food cooked by Chef Ian Kittichai is even better. ( You should try the Kanom Dok Mali! Yummy!)

After the meal, I am in the mood for a sleep. I catch a taxi and sleep lazily in the rear seats, while I am taken to my hotel.

The soft bed in the hotel puts me to sleep and finishes off a great day.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.47.55 PM
One of the numerous Thai street food markets
Leave a Reply

