– by Lian Gonzales, Grade 10

I didn’t want you to go, but why did I let you go? Give me one more chance, but don’t trust me too much.

I remembered the time when I looked out of the window to see the bus leaving. I didn’t even know if I was struck with sorrow or relief. But I knew one thing, I was alone.

The flowers I gave you at your funeral, they’ve wilted from the changing seasons. The cake that I’ve baked for you that day, it’s still there at the oven, begging to be eaten. The love that I gave you, it has been taken away when you were still living.

But why now? Why would you leave after I’ve realized my real love for you?

I looked out of the window to see you leaving, and never returning. I looked out of the window to see the bus returning, but I don’t see you leaving from it.

I want you to go, but I didn’t want to let you go. Give me one more chance and trust me with all of your heart.

Return to my arms. I want to see you living, not leaving.

Leave a Reply

