Sometimes, life has a way of bringing together a confluence of people, events and situations that all but shove us in a certain direction.

The other day, my husband had attended a workshop conducted by Robin Sharma as a part of writing an article on him. He came back impressed (not something that happens to a seasoned journalist, I must add…). A while later, life literally took me by the throat and threw me towards Sallyann Della Casa, who has taken Sharma’s vision a step further by teaching leadership to children. Working with her opened my eyes to so many things that I’d previously not noticed. I’d told you about it earlier.

On Thursday, we had dinner at my brother’s place, and there I happened to find The Greatness Guide 2 by none other than – yes, Robin Sharma!! I approach such books with a lot of wariness because most of them, I feel, talks down to the reader – as if the writer is standing on a pedestal and giving us, lesser beings, some tips on how to go about life… An entirely personal point of view, I admit.

So I took the book, (more out of curiosity about the weird set of coincidences that keeps bringing Robin Sharma into my life than anything else) and started browsing through it.

Well, let me just say that it’s now with me, shamelessly borrowed and to be retained until I can get one of my own. The book is now like a good friend telling me stuff that she thinks I should know, that she finds interesting…

The point of all this intro is that for the next few days, you’re going to be bombarded with a lot of gems that I find in there, whether you like it or not. 🙂 And I hope, as you had done in the past, that you will indulge me in this as well!

Be the Best You:

Warren Buffet once observed, “There will never be a better you than you.” Brilliant insight. From a brilliant guy. There will never be a better me than me. And there will never be a better you than you. Some might try to copy the way you think, speak and act. But no matter how hard they try, they will only be a second-best you. Because you are unique. Only one of you alive today. Among the billions of us. Makes you stop and think, doesn’t it? Makes you stop and think, doesn’t it? Makes you realize you are pretty special. No, very special. And that there really isn’t any competition.

(And it goes on to say that…) There will never be a better time to be the best you than today.

What more can I say…

Leave a Reply

